Day Eight, Part One: Saying Goodbye to NOLA

We had a very pleasant morning – finally no real deadlines to meet – so we slept in and took our time trying to pack all our newly acquired treasures.  I wanted to return a couple items I had bought so I went for a walk around 9:30.  It was such a pleasant morning; the crisp air felt good in the sunlight.  The streets were still wet from the cleaning that had taken place during the night.  The street crews do a phenomenal job – you could never tell that the “party of the year” had just taken place.

I still needed my elusive picture of The Old Absinthe House (see the “Day Six”  post), so I walked the few blocks there and noticed the door was open.  I walked in to see if they were indeed open, which they were, and when I heard Led Zeppelin playing, I figured it was serendipity so I sat for a quick beer and got inside pictures as well.  I made my returns, one of which was at the store named Road Trip that I had praised in an earlier post because of its unusual inventory.  It turned out it was more of an exchange than a refund because I succumbed to temptation and bought a painting I had seen during my first visit – a map of the United States made of state license plates.  Right up my alley! 

Preservation HallWhile I was at the store, I noticed a postcard of Preservation Hall, one of the most famous, if not the most famous, jazz venues in the city (despite its dilapidated appearance) and realized I had not seen it during my visit.  It turns out it was right around the corner, so I made one last photo stop before heading back to the hotel.

When I returned, it was time to leave, so we loaded up the car and said goodbye to New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

